Minutes of the Franklin Regional Retirement Advisory Council Meeting

Wednesday, November 6, 2013 at the Franklin County Technical School, Apprentice Restaurant, 82 Industrial Boulevard, Turners Falls, MA 01376

Chairman Ronnie LaChance called the meeting to order at 12:19 pm and then turned the meeting over to Dale Kowacki

Members present were:

Deerfield Treasurer - Mary Stokarski, Vice Chair, Advisory Council

Buckland Treasurer - Linda Marcotte

Conway Treasurer - Jan Warner

Erving Treasurer – Margaret Sullivan

Frontier Regional School - Paula Light

Gill Treasurer - Veronica LaChance

New Salem/Wendell Union School District Assistant Treasurer – Kate Woodward

Northfield Treasurer – Barb Brassor

Orange, Mahar, New Salem, Shutesbury Treasurer - Gabriele Voelker

Pioneer Regional School - Deb Mero

South Deerfield Water District Treasurer – Eunice Apanell

Also present were:

Barbara Hancock - Assistant Treasurer & Collector

Linda Gross – FRCOG, Assistant Finance Director

Julie Wonka – Erving, Treasurer's Human Resources and Payroll Assistant

Linda Adam – General Clerk/Assistant to Assessors

Retirement Board present:

Sandra Hanks First member, Chair, Treasurer, Appointed by Board Paula Light Second Member Appointed by Advisory Council

Mary Stokarski
David Gendron
Paul Mokrzecki
Third Member Elected by membership
Fourth Member Elected by membership
Fifth Member Appointed by Board

Retirement staff present:

Dale Kowacki Executive Director; Secretary, Advisory Council

Susan Bobe Assistant Director

Deborah Frentzos Member Services Accountant Patty Leveille Administrative Assistant

Minutes Accepted

On a motion by Mary Stokarski and second by Paula Light, the Council voted to accept the minutes of the July 17, 2013 meeting.

Finalize the Elections of both the Third Member and the Fourth Member of the Board

On a motion by Paula Light and second by Veronica LaChance, the Council voted to declare Mary Stokarski elected (Third Member) and David Gendron elected (Fourth

Member) as the unopposed, successful candidates of the retirement board.

2014 Budget

The budget for 2014, as voted by the board, was presented to the council and discussed. (Copy attached)

On a motion by Mary Stokarski and a second by Veronica LaChance, the Council certified the 2014 budget.

Supplemental Pension Allowance to Surviving Spouses of Disabled Employees

On a motion by Mary Stokarski and second by Jan Warner, the Council voted 8 in favor, 1 against the Retirement Board's October 30, 2013 acceptance of the provisions of Sections 63, 64 and 65 of Chapter 139 of the Acts of 2012 providing for an increase in allowance, to \$12,000 annually to the surviving spouse of an accidental or ordinary disability retiree, if the retirement date was prior to November 7, 1996.

Increase Board Stipend from \$3,500 to \$4,000

The Board is asking the Advisory Council to increase the annual stipend of the four regular Board members to \$4,000 (from \$3,500). The ability to do so is given to the Advisory Council in MGL 32, §20(6).

On a motion by Deb Mero and second by Veronica LaChance, the Council voted to increase the Board stipends to \$4,000, with Mary Stokarski and Paula Light recusing themselves.

Election of a Council Chair

This position will serve a three year term from January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2016. Nominations were requested from the floor.

Paula Light nominated VERONICA LACHANCE, seconded by Mary Stokarski.

Margaret Sullivan nominated PAULA LIGHT, seconded by Deb Mero.

Dale Kowacki asked if there were any more nominations, barring none, moved to vote.

PAULA LIGHT received 8 votes by hand count. VERONICA LACHANCE received 3 votes by hand count. PAULA LIGHT was elected to the office of Chair for a three-vear term.

Election of Advisory Council Officers

On a motion by Mary Stokarski and a second by Veronica LaChance, the Council voted Dale Kowacki to the office of Secretary for a three-year term.

On a motion by Gabriele Voelker and a second by Linda Marcotte, the Council voted Margaret Sullivan to the office of Vice Chair for a three-year term.

New Assessment Allocation Formula

Dale Kowacki, Executive Director, presented the Council with using a five-year average of salaries derived from deductions received, as a simpler method to allocate the assessments.

Adjournment

On a motion by Mary Stokarski and second by Jan Warner, the Council voted to adjourn the meeting at 1:11pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Accepted at the June 18, 2014 Advisory Council Meeting

Dale Kowacki Advisory Council Secretary This page intentionally left blank.